Youth (Un)Employment: Global Problems Meet Local Solutions

October 20-24, 2014 - This October Aga Khan Foundation Canada (AKFC) is excited to host a discussion between experts and practitioners working to create economic opportunities for youth. The discussion marks AKFC’s 10th University Seminar Series and will be followed by an interactive workshop. Our goal? To spur important conversations on how we can create economic opportunities for youth and ensure that the voices of young people across Canada are heard in this critical global debate.

Why youth economic opportunities? Young people bring energy, capacity and ingenuity to economies and communities. Yet 73 million young people across the globe continue to look for work without many opportunities. We want to bring attention to innovative initiatives, such as the Aga Khan Rural Support Programme in Pakistan, as well as community driven initiatives in Canada, that are paving a path to increase economic opportunities for young people.

Please join us as we travel across Canada to bring this exciting talk and workshop to your university. All events are free and refreshments will be served.

#AKFCYouth

University of Calgary

University of Toronto

Dalhousie University

University of Ottawa

McGill University

Rozsa Centre
Husky Oil Great Hall
Calgary, AB

Monday, October 20

12:00 pm to 2:00 pm

 

Munk School of Global Affairs
Vivian and David Campbell Conference Facility
Toronto, ON

Tuesday, October 21

1:00 pm to 3:00 pm

Dalhousie University Club, 3rd Floor
Halifax, NS

Wednesday, October 22

6:00 pm to 8:00 pm

Morisset Hall, Room 219
Ottawa, ON

Thursday, October 23

3:00 pm to 4:30 pm

Education Building
Rm. EDUC 129
Montreal, QC

Friday, October 24

12:00 pm to 2:00 pm

Can't be here in person? Join the live webcast from Ottawa on October 23 at 3:00 pm EST. Questions may be submitted during the talk and will be answered as time permits.

Spread the word!

Download the event poster here

Join the conversation: #AKFCYouth

Speakers:

Abdul Malik, General Manager, Aga Khan Rural Support Program in Pakistan

Abdul Malik has more than 12 years of professional experience in the field of development and has been General Manager of AKRSP Pakistan since 2011. At AKRSP, he is leading a number of key initiative surrounding youth development, rural livelihoods and institutional development. Previously, he worked in the United States with a number of leading institutions, including the World Bank and the Brookings Institution. Mr. Malik has primarily worked on issues surrounding aid effectiveness, migration, poverty and local development. Mr. Malik holds a Masters degree from the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University and an MBA from LUMS Pakistan.

Erin Markel, Principal Consultant, MarketShare Associates

Currently Erin is a Principal Consultant at MarketShare Associates (MSA), a boutique consulting firm committed to supporting innovative economic development programming and results measurement. She heads MSA’s Economic Opportunities practice area, which focuses on empowering women and youth. Erin has led a variety of consultancies including work with USAID, the IFC, Plan, CARE and the Aga Khan Foundation. Prior to joining MSA, Erin was a Program Manager, Market Development and Access to Finance at the Aga Khan Foundation Canada (AKFC). Past experience included working for Women’s World Banking, ProMujer International and the Aspen Institute. Erin holds a Master of International Affairs in Economic and Political Development from Columbia University.

Local speakers:

Toronto - Cindy Tan, Project Director, CivicAction

Over the past five years, Cindy has contributed to CivicAction's work driving multisectoral collaboration on issues ranging from transportation, leadership diversity, to regional economic cooperation. Cindy is now project director of CivicAction's newest initiative, Escalator: Jobs for Youth Facing Barriers. She also oversees CivicAction's DiverseCity Fellows program and Emerging Leaders Network (ELN), two initiatives that are nurturing the next generation of city-builders and changing the face of our region's leadership. Prior to this, Cindy spent almost a decade focused on social, economic, and cultural change in China, including managing a poverty reduction grants program. She has degrees in anthropology, political science and women's studies. Cindy is passionate about supporting others to reach their potential and bring about change in their lives and in their communities.

Halifax - Denise De Long, Project Manager, Greater Halifax Partnership

Denise manages the Halifax Connector Program - a networking program that helps local and international graduates connects people with business leaders and better succeed in Halifax. She has an M.Ed is in Educational Policy (International/Global) and a graduate diploma in Adult Education. Her background spans 20 years of intercultural communication training and teacher training in Canada, Taiwan and China. Denise also provides support to the National Connector Program that is being replicated in cities across Canada. Denise worked in educational project management and program development across Alberta. Since returning to Halifax in 2008, Denise has worked at Immigrant Settlement and Integration Services and Dalhousie University. She has been a certified administrator for the Intercultural Development Inventory (IDI) and has lead workshops for teachers and faculty.

Ottawa – Gordon Betcherman, Professor in the School of International Development and Global Studies at the University of Ottawa

Gordon Betcherman is a Professor in the School of International Development and Global Studies at the University of Ottawa, with a cross appointment to the Graduate School of Public and International Affairs. He is the Supervisor of the doctoral program in International Development at the University of Ottawa. Dr. Betcherman is also a Research Fellow at the Institute for the Study of Labor (IZA) in Germany. His research interests are in labor economics, demography, social policy, and the economics of development. His most recent publications are on the impacts of labor market institutions in developing countries. He was a co-author of the World Bank’s 2013 World Development Report on Jobs. Dr. Betcherman joined the University of Ottawa in 2009 after 11 years at the World Bank where he last was Sector Manager and Lead Economist in the Human Development Sector, Europe and Central Asia Region. He holds a PhD from the University of California at Los Angeles.

Montreal - Darlene Hnatchuk, Director, Career Planning Service (CaPS), McGill University

Darlene is Director at CaPS, McGill’s central career services. She works with employers who want to connect with and recruit the great talent at McGill, and assists students in understanding and articulating the skills and qualities they have developed through their experiences. Darlene has worked in career services for over thirteen years in universities and non-profit organizations where she has focused on youth employment and career development. She was previously on the board of directors for the Canadian Association of Career Educators and Employers. She is currently on a mission to promote increased experiential learning opportunities for students. Darlene holds a master’s degree in organizational development from Université Laval.

 

This event is undertaken with the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development.

DFATD

Read 31296 times Last modified on Friday, 18 September 2015 21:21

Join our mailing list

Are you looking for ways to learn more or get involved? Subscribe and stay connected with the latest news and information on global development from AKFC.Subscribe

Le chômage et l’emploi des jeunes : les problèmes mondiaux rencontrent les solutions locales

20 au 24 octobre 2014 - En octobre, la Fondation Aga Khan Canada est heureuse d’organiser une discussion entre experts et praticiens qui travaillent pour créer des occasions économiques pour les jeunes. La discussion souligne le dixième anniversaire de la Série de séminaires universitaires de la Fondation et sera suivie d’un atelier interactif. Notre objectif? Susciter d’importantes conversations sur la manière de créer des occasions économiques pour la jeunesse et nous assurer que les voix des jeunes Canadiens soient entendues dans ce débat mondial crucial.

Pourquoi créer des occasions économiques pour les jeunes? Les jeunes apportent énergie, compétence et ingéniosité aux économies et aux communautés. Néanmoins, 73 millions de jeunes à l’échelle mondiale continuent de rechercher de l’emploi dans des contextes qui ne leur offrent pas beaucoup d'occasions. Nous voulons attirer l’attention sur les initiatives innovantes, comme le Programme Aga Khan de soutien rural au Pakistan et des initiatives communautaires canadiennes qui ouvrent la voie à l’augmentation des occasions économiques offertes aux jeunes. 

Joignez-vous à nous alors que nous parcourons le Canada pour apporter aux universités, cette conversation et cet atelier excitants! Tous les événements sont gratuits et des rafraîchissements seront servis.

#AKFCYouth

Université de Calgary*

20 octobre – 12 h à 14 h

Université de Toronto*

21 octobre – 13 h à 15 h

Université Dalhousie*

22 octobre – 18 h à 20 h

Université d’Ottawa*

23 octobre – 15 h à 16 h 30

Université McGill*

24 octobre – 12 h à 14 h

Vous ne pouvez assister à la conférence en personne ? Suivez-la en direct sur le Web le 23 octobre à 15 h HNE. Il sera possible de poser des questions pendant le débat si le temps le permet.

* Veuillez noter que tous les événements sont présentés en anglais.

Passez le mot!

Téléchargez l’affiche de l’événement ici.

Conférenciers :

Abdul Malik, directeur général, Programme Aga Khan de soutien rural au Pakistan

Abdul Malik possède plus de 12 ans d’expérience professionnelle dans le domaine du développement et est le directeur général de l’AKRSP Pakistan depuis 2011. À l’AKRSP, il dirige diverses initiatives importantes entourant le développement de la jeunesse, les moyens de subsistance ruraux et le développement institutionnel. Auparavant, il a travaillé aux États-Unis dans plusieurs institutions importantes, dont la Banque mondiale et Brookings Institution. M. Malik a principalement travaillé sur des questions entourant l’efficacité de l’aide, la migration et le développement local. M. Malik détient une maîtrise de la Kennedy School of Government de l’Université Harvard et une MBA de LUMS Pakistan.

Erin Markel, conseillère principale, MarketShare Associates

Actuellement, Mme Markel est conseillère principale à MarketShare Associates (MSA), une firme-conseil vouée à soutenir le développement de programmes économiques novateurs et la mesure des résultats. Elle dirige la pratique en occasions économiques à MSA, laquelle cible l’autonomisation des femmes et des jeunes. Mme Markel a dirigé de nombreux services de conseils, dont USAID, l’IFC, Plan, CARE et la Fondation Aga Khan. Avant de se joindre à MSA, Erin a été directrice de programmes, développement des marchés et accès aux finances pour la Fondation Aga Khan Canada (Fondation). Elle a également travaillé pour Women’s World Banking, ProMujer International et l’Institut Aspen. Erin possède une maîtrise en affaires internationales en développement économique et politique de l’Université Columbia.

Conférenciers locaux :

Toronto - Cindy Tan, Directrice de projet, CivicAction

Depuis cinq ans, Cindy contribue au travail de CivicAction en dirigeant la collaboration intersectorielle sur des enjeux aussi variés que le transport, la diversité du leadership et la coopération économique régionale. Cindy agit actuellement à titre de directrice de projet de la plus récente initiative de CivicAction : Escalator: Jobs for Youth Facing Barriers. Elle supervise également les programmes DiverseCity Fellows et Emerging Leaders Network (ELN), deux initiatives qui éduquent la prochaine génération de bâtisseurs de villes et qui changent le visage du leadership de notre région. Avant d’occuper ce poste, Cindy a passé près d’une décennie à travailler sur le changement social, économique et culturel en Chine, notamment en gérant un programme de bourses pour la réduction de la pauvreté. Elle possède des diplômes en anthropologie, en sciences politiques et en études féminines. Cindy est passionnée par le soutien qu’elle apporte aux autres pour qu’ils puissent développer leur plein potentiel et apporter des changements dans leur vie et leur communauté.

Halifax - Denise De Long, Gestionnaire de projet, Greater Halifax Partnership

Denise gère le Halifax Connector Program, un programme de réseautage qui aide les diplômés locaux et internationaux et qui les met en lien avec les dirigeants d’entreprises pour augmenter le succès de tous à Halifax. Elle possède une maîtrise en éducation (internationale/mondiale) et un diplôme de deuxième cycle en éducation des adultes. Elle a plus de 20 ans d’expérience dans les domaines de la formation en communication interculturelle et en éducation des enseignants au Canada, à Taiwan et en Chine. Denise soutient également le National Connector Program, lequel est reproduit dans diverses villes canadiennes. Denise a travaillé en gestion de projets pédagogiques et en développement de programmes partout en Alberta. Depuis qu’elle est retournée à Halifax en 2008, Denise a travaillé au Service d’établissement et d’intégration des immigrants et à l’Université Dalhousie. Elle a été administratrice certifiée pour l’Inventaire du développement interculturel (IDI) et a dirigé des ateliers pour les enseignants et les facultés.

Ottawa – Gordon Betcherman, Professeur, École de développement international et mondialisation à l’Université d’Ottawa

Gordon Betcherman est professeur titulaire à l'École de développement international et mondialisation, avec une double affectation à l'École supérieure d'affaires publiques et internationales. M. Betcherman est également chercheur universitaire à l’Institut d’études du travail (IZA) en Allemagne. Ses domaines de recherches sont: l'économie du travail, la démographie, les politiques sociales et les économies en transition. Ses plus récentes publications portent sur les impacts des institutions du marché du travail dans les pays en développement. Il a coécrit le Rapport sur le développement dans le monde 2013 — Emplois de la Banque mondiale. Professeur Betcherman s'est joint à l'Université d'Ottawa après 11 années à la Banque Mondiale à Washington, dernièrement à titre de gestionnaire et économiste principal du secteur du développement humain pour les régions Europe et Asie centrale. Il est titulaire d'un doctorat en économie de la University of California at Los Angeles.

Montréal – Darlene Hnatchuk, Directrice, Service de planification de carrière (CaPS), Université McGill

Mme Hnatchuk est directrice du CaPS, le Service de planification de carrière de l’Université McGill. Elle travaille avec des employeurs qui veulent trouver et recruter les talents de McGill. Elle aide également les étudiants à comprendre et définir les compétences et qualités qu’ils ont développées à travers leurs expériences. Mme Hnatchuk  travailler dans les services de planification de carrière depuis plus de 13 ans dans les universités et les organisations à but non lucratif, où elle a ciblé l’emploi des jeunes et le perfectionnement professionnel. Dans le passé, elle a fait partie du conseil d’administration de l’Association canadienne des spécialistes en emploi et des employeurs. Actuellement, sa mission est de promouvoir l’augmentation des occasions d’apprentissage par l’expérience pour les étudiants. Mme Hnatchuk possède une maîtrise en développement organisationnel de l’Université Laval.

 

Entrepris avec l’aide financière d’Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada :

MAECD

Read 29587 times Last modified on vendredi, 18 septembre 2015 21:21

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d’envoi

Recherchez-vous des manières d’en apprendre plus ou de vous impliquer? Inscrivez-vous et restez à l’affût des dernières nouvelles et informations sur le travail de développement mondial de la Fondation.Inscrivez-vous