AKFC has a two-tiered governance structure, with both a Board of Directors and a National Committee.

The Board has overall statutory governance responsibility for AKFC and maintains an active role in setting AKFC’s strategy, ensuring its coherence with the direction and activities of the Aga Khan Foundation globally and of the wider AKDN. The National Committee functions as the local operating Board in Canada. All National Committee members are Canadian and are appointed by the Board of Directors. The Committee fulfills key governance and oversight responsibilities for AKFC, including:

  • Providing ongoing guidance and stewardship of AKFC
  • Ensuring compliance with Canadian legal and fiscal requirements
  • Overseeing the annual budget and ensuring resources placed under its custody are productively managed, invested and used in furtherance of the best interests of AKFC

The National Committee meets no less than three times a year. An Audit & Compliance Sub-Committee is appointed from among the members of the National Committee and meets at least twice a year.

Board of Directors

  • His Highness the Aga Khan
  • Prince Amyn Aga Khan
  • Princess Zahra Aga Khan
  • Prince Rahim Aga Khan
  • Jane Piacentini-Moore
  • Alan Abela

National Committee Members (2024-2027)

  • Noordin Nanji (chair)
  • Natasha Walji (vice-chair)
  • Ayeesha Lalji
  • Tasneem Rahim
  • Nadim Hirji
  • Noor Wais
  • Ameerally Kassim-Lakha